Previous Bloom Readers

2018-2019 Season

Leah Souffrant

Meena Alexander

Dennis Norris II

Joan Xie

Sam Perkins

Tishon Woolcock

Nathan McClain

Carol Potter

Glynn Pogue

Mindy Lewis

Chris Hansen-Nelson

Raquel Vasquez Gilliland

Ben Purkert

Brionne Janae

Cynthia Cruz

Jennifer Franklin

Rio Cortez

Maya Doig-Acuña

Iain Pollock

Bakar Wilson

Britanny Shutts

Nicholas Nichols

Mae Mattia

Leslie Lawrence

Arden Levine

Deborah Paredez

Stacy Parker-LeMelle

Sarah Stern

Michelle Whittaker

Craig Kite

Sam Turner

MAY 23, 2021


Sara Alaica is a short story writer and educator. Her writing has appeared in numerous journals, including Cleaver, Spry, Pinch, and Paper Darts. Her short story “The Iron Gates,” published in the Tishman Review, was nominated for Best of the Web. Sara studied literature at Carleton University and the University of Toronto, and has been a writer-in-residence at Taleamor Park and at Ucross. She is an active member of both the Vancouver Writers Group and the National Women’s Book Association. She grew up in Serbia and Canada, and spent a decade living throughout Asia before settling in Vancouver, BC.

Elana Bell is a poet, teacher, and activist. Her most recent collection, Mother Country, poems about fertility, motherhood, and mental illness, appeared in 2020. Her debut collection, Eyes, Stones, received the 2011 Walt Whitman Award from the Academy of American Poets. Elana is the recipient of grants and fellowships from the Jerome Foundation, the Edward Albee Foundation, and the Brooklyn Arts Council. Her writing has appeared in AGNIHarvard Review, and the Massachusetts Review, among others. She was an inaugural finalist for the Freedom Plow Award for Poetry & Activism, an award that recognizes and honors a poet who is doing innovative and transformative work at the intersection of poetry and social change. In addition to facilitating her own Creative Fire workshops, Elana teaches poetry to actors at the Juilliard School and sings with the Resistance Revival Chorus.

Avi Fried is a poet and student at Yeshiva University in New York City. In high school he joined the poetry slam team and was named a finalist in his first-ever performance. He writes in a full range of forms from sestinas to free verse to rap lyrics. He is working on his first collection.

Lola Koundakjian is a writer, editor, and translator born in Beirut, Lebanon and living in New York City. A former editorial board member at Ararat Literary Quarterly, she has four poetry collections in Armenian and English with Spanish translations. She runs the Dead Armenian Poetry Society and the online Armenian Poetry Project. In the past decade, she has read at international poetry festivals in Medellín (Colombia) twice, Lima (Peru), Ramallah (West Bank), Trois-Rivières (Quebec), and Santiago (Chile). Her work appears in various journals and international anthologies.

Jennifer Litt is a poet and teacher, and serves as the assistant director of the Palm Beach Poetry Festival. Her chapbook, Maximum Speed Through Zero (Blue Lyra Press) appeared in 2016. Her full-length poetry collection, Strictly from Hunger, is forthcoming from Accents Publishing in 2022. Jennifer’s work has appeared in numerous publications, including Gulf StreamJet Fuel ReviewLuminaNaugatuck River ReviewnycBigCityLitSouth Florida Poetry JournalStone Canoe, and SWWIM.

2017–2018 Season

Cynthia Manick

Janlori Goldman

Jane McKinley

Joanne Sills

William Leo Coakley

Helen Benedict

Cornelius Eady

Joanna Sit

Rico Frederick

Robin Messing

Jennifer Michael Hecht

Terese Svoboda

Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie

Thaddeus Rutkowski

Aarti Monteiro

Sarah Jewell

Adriana Rambay Fernandéz

Chris Hansen-Nelson

Martha Rhodes

Reginald Flood

Michael Collins

Jeanne Marie Beaumont

Jordan Franklin

Sally Dawidoff

Michael Homolka

Carol Goodman

Barbara Fant


Peter Cameron

Meg Kearney

Lola Koundakjian

Elaine Sexton

Rachel Eliza Griffiths

Sarah Van Arsdale

Chris Bram

Ernesto Quinonez

Sheila Maldonado

James Goodman

Ross Gay

Don Wilen

Laura Shapiro

Suzanne Parker

Joseph Quintela

Susan Stinson

Rose Bernal

Michel Klein

Ralph Nazareth 

Pamela Brown-Peterside

David Groff

Stacy Parker Le Melle

Chris Hansen-Nelson

David Ebenbach

Emanuel Xavier

Marianela Medrano

Natalie Baszile

Rick Hilles

Nancy Reisman

Tim Seibles

Michael Nava

Janlori Goldman 

Evan Fallenberg

Purvi Shah

Honor Moore

Lee Slominsky

Jason Koo

Ellery Washington

Stephen Greco

Alison Meyers

Kamilah Aisha Moon

Joseph O. Legaspi

Curis Bauer

Emanuel Xavier

Nancy Mercado

Caridad de la Luz

Deborah Emin

Barbara Blatner

Cassandra Medley

Joan Larkin

Lizzie Olesker

Rachel Simon

Diana Alvarez

Parneshia Jones

Stephanie Hammer